Iceland: Proving once again that Print is not dead.

Deep in the Iceland regions we have many books being published. In Iceland, traditionally books have been known to be given as Christmas presents. Which is no doubt why, books being published tend to rise during the Christmas months. However this year that’s not the case.

A total of 842 books are registered in the annual Bókatíðindi, an overview of new publications released last weekend, which is a new record. Registered titles are up from 757 last year and from 466 in 2002—they have increased by 376 in one decade.

Never before have as many Icelandic books of fiction been released as this year, a total of 101, 57 new releases and 44 books that are being republished. If poems and plays are added to that number, it grows to 138, Fréttablaðið reports.

It can be argued that the rise of books being published has rose because, with the number of books being published, included in those numbers are E-books and books in Audio format. It also just proves that no matter where you live books can have a heart all its own.
“Bókatíðindi reflects that book publishing is shifting towards the same development as in our neighboring countries, that publishers must release books in many formats,” Kristján commented. This year, 94 eBooks and 50 audio books are registered.

“In the past years a slow change has occurred in the publishing pattern,” he added. “Book sale is not mainly tied to the Christmas book flood but books are sold throughout the year.”

 

 

38 thoughts on “Iceland: Proving once again that Print is not dead.

  1. Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know
    your situation; many of us have developed some nice procedures and we are looking to trade techniques with others, please
    shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  2. Just wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity for your put up is simply cool and i could suppose
    you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to stay up to date with impending post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please continue the gratifying work.

  3. Hi, I do think this is an excellent site.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I will revisit once again since i have book-marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue
    to guide other people.

  4. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find many
    of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to
    write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

  5. 756114 960757magnificent submit, quite informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector dont realize this. You ought to proceed your writing. Im confident, youve a terrific readers base already! 948214

  6. Pingback: hosting murah
  7. Thanks for another informative blog. The place else may I am getting that kind of information written
    in such a perfect approach? I’ve a project that I’m simply now working on, and I’ve been on the look out for such info.

  8. I drop a leave a response each time I especially enjoy
    a article on a website or I have something to add to the conversation.

    It is caused by the sincerness displayed in the article I looked at.
    And after this post Iceland: Proving once again that
    Print is not dead. Nicole Maharaj. I was excited enough to leave a thought 🙂 I actually do have a
    few questions for you if you do not mind. Is it only me or do some of the remarks look like they
    are written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are
    posting at other online social sites, I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post.
    Would you list the complete urls of all your shared pages like your
    linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  9. I am no longer positive where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I must spend a while studying more or figuring out more. Thanks for magnificent info I used to be looking for this info for my mission.

  10. 773945 335545Can I just now say that of a relief to locate somebody who truly knows what theyre speaking about online. You truly know how to bring a difficulty to light and function out it crucial. The diet want to see this and appreciate this side on the story. I cant believe youre no a lot more popular since you undoubtedly possess the gift. 642396

  11. Right here is the perfect webpage for anybody who wishes to understand this topic.
    You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you
    (not that I personally will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a
    brand new spin on a topic that’s been written about for ages. Wonderful stuff, just great!

  12. I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of
    your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for
    only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  13. Thank you, I’ve recently been searching for information about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I have discovered so far. However, what concerning the conclusion? Are you sure concerning the source?

  14. Heya! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

  15. You actually make it appear really easy along with your presentation however I find this matter to be
    actually one thing which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very extensive for me.
    I am taking a look forward in your subsequent submit, I will attempt to get the dangle
    of it!

  16. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  17. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favourite reason appeared to be at the net the
    easiest factor to consider of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while other people think about concerns that they plainly don’t understand about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  18. Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same topics you
    discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my subscribers would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

Leave a Reply

