Monkey Paw

So we all are familiar with vending machines. You go towards one, put a coin in and get some goodies, whether it be candy or soft drinks. Now we have a new innovation(well new for me, unless I miss my guess), a machine that spits out books. That’s right, there is a random book dispenser that was made for Monkey Paw bookstore.

Craig Small built the “Biblio-Mat” for The Monkey’s Paw in Toronto, a machine that reproduces this experience and automatically gives your a random book. Simply pay two dollars and see what you get from the device. We’ve embedded a video about the machine–what do you think?

Check it out: “The machine was conceived as an artful alternative to the ubiquitous and often ignored discount sidewalk bin. When a customer puts coins into it, the Biblio-Mat dramatically whirrs and vibrates as the machine is set in motion. The ring of an old telephone bell enhances the thrill when the customer’s mystery book is delivered with a satisfying clunk into the receptacle below.”

I for one, definitely want to see this for myself. Check out the video at:

11 thoughts on “Monkey Paw

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  2. Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Spending some time and actual effort to create a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  3. You actually make it appear so easy with your presentation but I to find this matter to be really one thing which I believe I’d never understand. It kind of feels too complex and extremely wide for me. I am having a look forward in your subsequent post, I’ll attempt to get the hold of it!|

  4. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

